Hotel history

2001 until today

Heiner

The Vital- & Wellnesshotel Zum Kurfürsten was built in 1988 and opened in 1989, at that time as a wine bar with guest rooms.

At that time, the focus was exclusively on the spa guests on site. At that time there were around 1000 beds available in the 5 surrounding health clinics.

In 2001 the Hotel Zum Kurfürsten was bought by Heiner Buckermann.

  • 2001

    Purchase of the hotel by Heiner Buckermann.
    The hotel had no stars at the time. The room floors in the old building were still covered with linoleum and equipped with Ikea furniture. There was a sauna in the basement. Some of the regular guests who have accompanied us during this time still have something to say about a small restaurant and a sauna in the basement as a “highlight”. But despite everything, the hotel cast a spell on us from the start with its historical look and quiet location.

  • 2002

    Specialization in bus travel.
    The sauna was still there, but was almost never used, the aim was to upgrade the rooms from now on. The actual goal was still unclear, only the quality should be increased.

     
  • 2003

    We opened our first beauty room in the basement.
    At the same time, a never-used conference room was converted into a massage room. At this time, our guests enjoyed the basement sauna, the massage in the conference room and the beauty treatment in the converted storage room. And the amazing thing about it ... everyone was satisfied and happy ... at that time!

  • 2004

    We have been certified with 3 stars superior,
    the efforts were rewarded. At this point in time, the demand was extremely high.

  • 2005

    The bus business no longer encouraged us.
    No passion, no further development. All bus operator contracts were terminated in the middle of the year. The aim should be to become independent first. In addition, the quality should be further increased. The first discussions with our architect took place in the same year. At this point, many thanks again to Alois Simon, who continues to support us with his creativity and technical know-how to this day with a lot of heart and soul www.simon-wittlich.de

  • 2006

    The construction site for the extension with a wellness area was set up.
    At the same time the fireplace restaurant was built. Investment volume approx. € 1 million. The hotel was renamed to the name Vital & Wellness Hotel Zum Kurfürsten instead.

  • 2007

    The panorama bath in the attic and the room wing with 15 rooms were built.
    Investment volume approx. € 1 million

  • 2008

    All rooms and restaurants have been brought up to date.
    The hotel thus received the 4-star superior certificate. Investment € 800 thousand.

     

    Plans were drawn up for the development of a large wellness area as well as additional saunas, an outdoor pool and 23 additional rooms. For Heiner Buckermann, cooperation with the city has always been an important part of all planning work. The city fathers and the mayor were and are always positive about the overall project. There were often very difficult situations to cope with, which always ended well thanks to the continuous, very good cooperation with the city. At this point we would like to thank everyone involved. We are all aware that the “Buckermann” often pushed the limits of what was possible, but we were never alone.

  • 2009

    The major construction project started
    The planned investment was 2,7 million, which resulted in a total investment of 4,7 million.

  • 2011

    Was built:the restaurant 5 elements, the pool house with outdoor pool, 2 saunas, water beds - relaxation room, tea lounge and connecting passage to the existing wellness area or the new bed track to the main house Furthermore, the ward building with 23 rooms and 3 suites, a sports and fitness room, a children's room and a course room was completed.

     

    Immediately after completionOn the same day as it were, the heaviest hail in the history of the Moselle region overtook us. The Hotel Zum Kurfürsten had to complain about hail damage of € 1.3 million. The damage was not completely repaired until mid-2012.

  • 2012

    We celebrated the completion of the entire project

  • 2013

    We install 3 CHPs
    with a total power of 35 KW electric. The investment is € 210 thousand

  • 2014

    Construction break

  • 2015

    Purchase of the Kneippchen after a long negotiation phase.
    Another pool house is now being built here with an outdoor pool, steam bath, earth sauna, various relaxation rooms as well as a nudist outdoor area and another wellness bistro. Completion is planned for summer / autumn 2016. Investment € 1,6 million

  • 2016

    Wellness area opened
    It was January 2017, however, and € 1,6 million became € 2 million, but it turned out to be really nice.

  • 2017

    In May 2017, the neighboring hotel Kölchens and the adjoining apartment house zur Sonne were bought. Both buildings are to be merged and then later connected to the Lifestye Resort Zum Kurfürsten. We will report on this further.

  • 20XX

    sequel follows

Hotelgeschichte

2001 bis heute

Heiner

Das Vital-& Wellnesshotel Zum Kurfürsten wurde 1988 erbaut und 1989 eröffnet, damals als Weinlokal mit Gästezimmer.

Zum damaligen Zeitpunkt hat man sich ausschließlich auf die Kurgäste vor Ort konzentriert. Zu dieser Zeit standen ca. 1000 Betten in den umliegenden 5 Kur-Kliniken zur Verfügung.

2001 wurde das Hotel Zum Kurfürsten von Heiner Buckermann gekauft.

  • 2001

    Kauf des Hotels durch Heiner Buckermann.
    Das Hotel hatte zu diesem Zeitpunkt keine Sterne. Die Zimmerböden im Altbau waren noch mit Linoleum belegt und mit Ikea-Möbeln ausgestattet. Es befand sich im Keller eine Sauna. Einige Stammgäste, die uns in dieser Zeit begleitet haben, wissen noch zu berichten, von einem kleinen Restaurant und einer Sauna im Keller als „Highlight“. Aber trotz allem, hat uns das Hotel von Anfang an mit seiner historischen Optik und der ruhigen Lage in seinen Bann gezogen.

  • 2002

    Spezialisierung auf Busreisen.
    Die Sauna war immer noch da, wurde aber so gut wie nie genutzt, Ziel war ab jetzt die Zimmer auf einen höheren Standard zu bringen. Das eigentliche Ziel war aber noch unklar, nur die Qualität sollte gesteigert werden.

     
  • 2003

    Wir haben unseren ersten Beautyraum im Keller eröffnet.
    Gleichzeitig wurde ein nie benutzter Tagungsraum zum Massageraum umgebaut. Zu dieser Zeit haben unsere Gäste die Kellersauna genossen, die Massage im Tagungsraum und die Beautyanwendung im umgebauten Lagerraum. Und das erstaunliche daran…alle waren zufrieden und glücklich….zu dieser Zeit !

  • 2004

    Wir wurden mit 3 Sterne Superior zertifiziert,
    die Anstrengungen wurden belohnt. Die Nachfrage ist zu diesem Zeitpunkt extrem gestiegen.

  • 2005

    Das Busgeschäft hat uns nicht mehr angespornt.
    Keine Leidenschaft, keine Weiterentwicklung. Zur Mitte des Jahres wurden sämtliche Busveranstalter-Verträge gekündigt. Ziel sollte es sein zunächst unabhängig zu werden. Zudem sollte die Qualität weiter gesteigert werden. Im selben Jahr fanden die ersten Gespräche mit unserem Architekten statt. An dieser Stelle nochmals vielen Dank an Alois Simon, der uns mit seiner Kreativität sowie sein Fachliches Know-how, bis heute mit viel Herzblut unterstützt www.simon-wittlich.de

  • 2006

    Die Baustelle für den Erweiterungsbau mit Wellnessbereich wurde eingerichtet.
    Gleichzeitig wurde das Kaminrestaurant gebaut. Investitionsvolumen ca. € 1 Mio. Es fand die Umbenennung des Hotels auf den Namen Vital-& Wellnesshotel Zum Kurfürsten statt.

  • 2007

    Das Panoramabad im Dachgeschoss sowie der Zimmertrakt mit 15 Zimmern wurde gebaut.
    Investitionsvolumen ca. € 1 Mio.

  • 2008

    Slle Zimmer und Restaurants wurden auf den neusten Stand gebracht.
    Das Hotel erhielt somit das Zertifikat 4 Sterne Superior. Investition € 800 Tausend.

     

    Es wurden Pläne für die Entwicklung eines großen Wellnessbereiches sowie weiteren Saunen, einem Außenpool und 23 weitere Zimmer entwickelt. Die Zusammenarbeit mit der Stadt war für Heiner Buckermann immer ein wichtiger Bestandteil aller Planungsarbeiten. Die Stadtväter sowie der Bürgermeister waren und sind dem Gesamtprojekt zu jedem Zeitpunkt positiv gegenübergestanden. Es gab oft sehr schwierige Situationen zu bewältigen, die durch die kontinuierliche sehr gute Zusammenarbeit mit der Stadt immer ein gutes Ende genommen haben. An dieser Stelle möchten wir uns ganz herzlich bei ALLEN Beteiligten bedanken. Uns allen ist bewusst, das der „Buckermann“ oft an die Grenzen des machbaren gegangen ist, aber wir waren nie alleine.

  • 2009

    Das Großbauprojekt startete,
    geplant waren 2,7 Mio Invest, daraus geworden sind 4,7 Mio. Gesamtinvestition.

  • 2011

    Gebaut wurde:das Restaurant 5 Elemente, das Poolhaus mit Außenpool, 2 Saunen, Wasserbetten – Ruheraum, Teelounge und Verbindungsgang zum bestehenden Wellnessbereich bzw. dem neuen Bettentrackt zum Haupthaus. Weiterhin wurde das Bettenhaus mit 23 Zimmern und 3 Suiten, Sport- und Fitnessraum, Kinderraum und Kursraum, fertiggestellt.

     

    Direkt nach Fertigstellung, sozusagen am selben Tag, ereilte uns der schwerste Hagel in der Geschichte der Moselregion. Das Hotel Zum Kurfürsten musste einen Hagelschaden von € 1.3 Mio beklagen. Erst Mitte 2012 war der Schaden komplett behoben.

  • 2012

    Wir haben die Fertigstellung des Gesamtprojektes gefeiert

  • 2013

    Wir installieren 3 BHKW´s
    mit einer Gesamtleistung von 35 KW elektrisch. Die Investition beläuft sich € 210 Tausend

  • 2014

    Baupause

  • 2015

    Kauf des Kneippchens nach langer Verhandlungsphase.
    Hier entsteht nun ein weiteres Poolhaus mit Außenpool, Dampfbad, Erdsauna, diversen Ruheräumen sowie einem FKK-Außenbereich und einem weiteren Wellness-Bistro. Fertigstellung ist für Sommer/Herbst 2016 geplant. Investition € 1,6 Mio.

  • 2016

    Wellnessbereich eröffnet
    Es wurde allerdings Januar 2017 und aus € 1,6  Mio wurden € 2 Mio., dafür wurde es aber auch wirklich schön.

  • 2017

    Im Mai 2017 wurden das Nachbarhotel Kölchens sowie das angrenzende Appartemenmthaus zur Sonne gekauft. Beide Gebäude sollen zusammengeführt werden und dann später dem Lifestye Resort Zum Kurfürsten angeshlossen werden. Wir werden hierzu weiter berichten.

  • 20XX

    Fortsetzung folgt